The West Exmoor Federation of schools was established in 2007 when the Primary schools of Lynton, Parracombe and Kentisbury amalgamated to become the first Primary Federation of schools in Devon. Since the Federation, Kentisbury has expanded to include the “Little Berries” pre-school facility.

Recent years have seen some turmoil in the Federation, with numerous staff changes for various reasons, and the tragic burning down of Parracombe school in September 2011 which meant a raft of children being taught elsewhere in the Federation. Happily, this situation has been resolved, and in 2014 a brand spanking new school opened to serve the Parracombe community.

Shortly after the new build the Federation was inspected by Ofsted, and was judged as “requiring some improvement” Whilst not a welcome judgement it spurred everyone forward and subsequent monitoring visits demonstrated a clear and rapid improvement in all areas, with significant improvements in standards being achieved by all children. Despite many staff, and governor changes at this time, for a variety of reasons, the improvements continued.

In 2016 all three schools were inspected again by Ofsted, this time gaining a universal judgement of good throughout. Many of the very positive comments made by the inspectors can be found elsewhere on this website.

The Executive Head, Mrs. Jayne Peacock, and the governing body now lead a team of dedicated and enthusiastic staff who are wholly committed to providing the best educational experience for all pupils. As a result pupils are settled, happy and comfortable, being educated in a warm, safe learning environment, and they are making good progress.

The Governing Body is committed to working cohesively with staff to ensure the best possible learning for all Federation pupils. Parents and Carers are encouraged to be involved in the life and working of the Federation, and we welcome any thoughts which could improve the learning of the children. Any contact with the Federation is welcomed.

I can be contacted via any school office, or by the contact page on this website.

Jan Stokes. Chair of Governors.